Kudos to CSL Alumni, Maile Wilson – the First Female Mayor of Cedar City


Graduation

Maile Wilson at Charlotte Law Graduation

The library extends their congratulations to our former SBA Senator and recent graduate, Maile Wilson, who was elected Mayor of Cedar City, Utah, this month.  Impressively, she campaigned while studying for the bar.

Wilson graciously took time out of her busy schedule to answer a few questions for the school:

What have you taken with you from CharlotteLaw?  Has any of your experiences here influenced your choice in career?

I knew even before attending CharlotteLaw that I wanted to be involved in public service and politics. Through my previous educational pursuits, I had received my undergraduate degree in political science and a master’s in public administration.  The legal education I received has helped me fulfill that dream and career path.  Not only do I feel more prepared and have a better understanding of the numerous issues that will face my community, but I also have a large network of individuals that are just a phone call away that I met during my time at CSL.

What did it feel like when you got the news of your election? 

When I first got the news that I was elected I was in shock.  My community has never had two candidates with such diverse backgrounds and although I hoped for the best, I was not sure how the election was going to turn out.  Everyone in my house was cheering as they realized that this was a historic election for Cedar City, Utah.

Mwilson

Mayor Wilson will begin her term January 1, 2014

How does it feel like to be the first female mayor of Cedar City?  The youngest in Utah?

It is an honor to be elected to serve the community where I was raised.  While I did not tend to emphasis age or gender during the campaign, since the election it has become a major focus as I am both the youngest and first female mayor in Cedar City history.   My election has shown individuals of all ages, especially our youth, that age and gender do not have to be an obstacle for their chosen career path.  Instead, I hope my story has shown that everyone should go after their dreams and put the stereotype notions aside.

What are your goals for Cedar City in your first term?

I have a 5 point plan that I will focus on during my time in office which includes: 1) Updating & expanding the City’s technology resources; 2) economic development; 3) City beautification; 4) prairie dogs; and 5) maintaining water as a major priority for growth now and in the future.

Labor Day Parade with Jaxon and Taylyn

And the CSL Library?

During my three years at CSL I spent countless hours studying in the library. This not only gave me an opportunity to work with my fellow classmates to better understand the law, but it also allowed me to develop lifelong friendships with the other CSL students and faculty.

So congratulations, Mayor Wilson —  I know I speak for the entire library when I say that we are so proud of you and your accomplishments!

~Ashley Moye~

Leave a comment

Filed under Careers, News, Of Interest to Law Students

Leave a Reply

